Interior Courtyard of Franchise Tax Board in Sacramento

Requirements for LEED Building Certification

    • Includes major renovations and build-to-suit leases

    • LEED Silver or higher


Types of LEED Certifications

  1. LEED-NC is designed to guide and distinguish high-performance commercial and institutional projects, including office buildings, high-rise residential buildings, government buildings, recreational facilities, manufacturing plants and laboratories.

  2. LEED-EBOM helps building owners and operators measure operations, improvements and maintenance on a consistent scale, with the goal of maximizing operational efficiency while minimizing environmental impacts. LEED-EBOM addresses whole-building cleaning and maintenance issues (including chemical use), recycling programs, exterior maintenance programs, and systems upgrades.
  3. LEED-CI is applied to tenant improvements and used for certifying high-performance green interiors that are healthy, productive places to work; are less costly to operate and maintain; and have a reduced environmental footprint.
  4. LEED-CS is a green building rating system for designers, builders, developers and new building owners who want to address sustainable design for new core and shell construction. Core and shell covers base building elements such as structure, envelope and the HVAC system.

LEED Certified State Buildings

Graph of Cumulative LEED Certified Buildings by Year


Dan Burgoyne , Sustainability Manager

Department of General Services
Office of Sustainability

707 Third St
West Sacramento, CA 95605

Contact Information: 

☎ (916) 376-5010