Deputy Director & Chief Counsel

Jennifer Bollinger   (916) 376-5085 jennifer.bollinger@dgs.ca.gov

Assistant Chief Counsel

Anna Woodrow  (916) 376-5099 anna.woodrow@dgs.ca.gov

Assistant Chief Counsel

Thomas Patton (916) 376-5113 thomas.patton@dgs.ca.gov 

Attorneys

Viana Barbu (916) 376-5078 viana.barbu@dgs.ca.gov

Natalie Bocanegra (916) 376-5109 natalie.bocanegra@dgs.ca.gov 

Ephraim Egan (916) 376-5103 ephraim.egan@dgs.ca.gov

Marina Feehan (916) 376-5107 marina.feehan@dgs.ca.gov

Laurie Giberson (916) 376-5111 laurie.giberson@dgs.ca.gov 

Rick Goldberg (916) 376-5108 richard.goldberg@dgs.ca.gov 

Alex Holtz (916) 376-5102 alex.holtz@dgs.ca.gov

Bryan Kimura (916) 376-5106 bryan.kimura@dgs.ca.gov 

Nicole Lorek-Robles (916) 376-5112  nicole.lorekrobles@dgs.ca.gov

Michelle Marzahn (916) 376-5115    michelle.marzahn@dgs.ca.gov

Daniel Rios (916) 376-5079 daniel.rios@dgs.ca.gov

Froilan Zuno (916) 376-1090 froilan.zuno@dgs.ca.gov

Special Investigator

Mario Alvarado (916) 443-9936 mario.alvarado@dgs.ca.gov

Legal Analyst

Patricia Galvan (916) 376-5098 patricia.galvan@dgs.ca.gov

Administrative Assistant

Kimberly Scruggs (916) 376-5092 kimberly.scruggs@dgs.ca.gov

Intellectual Property Analyst

Vacant

Legal Support Supervisor

Teresa Sousa (916) 376-5091 teresa.sousa@dgs.ca.gov

Support Staff

Beverly Brown (916) 376-5094 beverly.brown@dgs.ca.gov 

Susan Burns (916) 376-5096 susan.burns@dgs.ca.gov

Christina Meinke  (916) 376-3870  christina.meinke@dgs.ca.gov

Julie Ison    (916) 376-1064   julie.ison@dgs.ca.gov

 

A

Achieving Better Life Expectancy Board - Rick Goldberg

Administrative Law, Office of - Rick Goldberg

Afro-American Museum - Rick Goldberg

Aging, Dept. of - Nicole Lorek

Aging, Commission on - Nicole Lorek

Agricultural Labor Relations Board - Dan Rios

Air Resources Board - Nicole Lorek

Alcohol & Drug Programs - Daniel Rios

Alcoholic Beverage Control - Dan Rios

Alternative Energy and Advanced Transportation - Viana Barbu

Arts Council - Richard Goldberg

B

Baldwin Hills Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Boating and Waterways - Bryan Kimura

Building Standards Commission - Viana Barbu

Bureau of Automotive Repair - Alex Holtz

Business and Consumer Services Agency - Nicole Lorek

Business and Economic Development (GoBiz) - Rick Goldberg

Business Oversight, Dept. of - Alex Holtz

C

CA Exposition & State Fair - Rick Goldberg

CA Conservation Corps - Nicole Lorek

CA Secure Choice Retirement Savings Investment Board - Natalie Bocanegra

CalEPA - Dan Rios

CalRecycle - Dan Rios

Central Valley Flood Protection Board (formerly Reclamation Board) - Alex Holtz

Child Development Programs - Nicole Lorek

Child Support Services - Alex Holtz

Children and Family Commission (First Five)  - Viana Barbu

Chiropractic Examiners, Board of - Alex Holtz

Citizen's Redistricting Commission 
- Laurie Giberson

Coachella Valley Mountains Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Coastal Commission - Bryan Kimura

Coastal Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Colorado River Board - Bryan Kimura

Commission on Disability Access - Rick Goldberg

Community Services and Development - Viana Barbu

Conservation, Dept. of - Nicole Lorek

Consumer Affairs - Nicole Lorek

Controller's Office - Natalie Bocanegra

Corporations, Dept. of - See Business Oversight, Dept. of

Correctional Peace Officer Standards & Training - Alex Holtz

Corrections & Rehabilitation (CDCR), Dept. Of - Ephraim Egan

D

Debt Advisory Commission - Dan Rios

Debt Limit Allocation Committee - Dan Rios

Debt & Investment Advisory Commission - Dan Rios

Delta Protection Commission - Bryan Kimura

Delta Stewardship Council - Bryan Kimura

Developmental Disabilities Area Boards - Bryan Kimura

Developmental Disabilities, CA Council - Rick Goldberg

Developmental Services - Bryan Kimura

DGS - Audits Section - Laurie Giberson

DGS - Business Services Section - Natalie Bocanegra

DGS - Division of State Architect - Alex Holtz

DGS - Enterprise Technology Solutions - Rick Goldberg

DGS - Executive Office - Laurie Giberson

DGS - Facilities Management Division - Daniel Rios 

DGS - Office of Administrative Hearings - Nicole Lorek

DGS - Office of Business & Acquisitions Services - Laurie Giberson

DGS - Office of Business & Acquisitions Services (Public Works) - Daniel Rios

DGS - Office of Equal Employment Opportunity - Tom Patton (TEMPORARY)

DGS - Office of Fiscal Services - Rick Goldberg

DGS - Office of Fleet & Asset Management - Natalie Bocanegra

DGS - Office of Human Resources - Tom Patton (TEMPORARY)

DGS - Office of Legal Services - Laurie Giberson 

DGS - Office of Public Schools Construction - Tom Patton 

DGS - Office of Risk & Insurance Management - Michelle Marzhan 

DGS - Office of Risk & Insurance Management - Natural Gas Services - Bryan Kimura

DGS - Office of Small Business & Disabled Veterans Business Enterprise Services - Natalie Bocanegra 

DGS - Office of State Publishing - Nicole Lorek

DGS - Office of Strategic Planning, Policy & Research - Laurie Giberson 

DGS - Office of Sustainability - Bryan Kimura

DGS - Procurement Division - Rick Goldberg

DGS - Real Estate Services Division (RESD) - Daniel Rios 

DGS - RESD Asset Management Branch - Alex Holtz 

DGS - RESD Building & Property Management - Daniel Rios 

DGS - RESD Construction Unit - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD Energy Matters (Utilities) - Viana Barbu

DGS - RESD Project Management & Development Branch (PMDB) - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB Construction Services - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB Design Services - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB Direct Construction Unit - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB Environmental Services - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB Real Estate Leasing - Viana Barbu

DGS - RESD PMDB Real Property Services Section - Alex Holtz

DGS - RESD PMDB Seismic and Special Programs - Daniel Rios

DGS - RESD PMDB State Owned Leasing and Development - Viana Barbu 

E

Education - Viana Barbu

Education Audit Appeals Panel - Viana Barbu

Educational Facilities Authority - Bryan Kimura

Emergency Medical Services Authority - Alex Holtz

Emergency Services, Office of - Rick Goldberg

Employment Development Department - Natalie Bocanegra

Energy Resource Conservation and Development Commission - Rick Goldberg

Environmental Health Hazard Assessment - Dan Rios

Environmental Protection Agency - Dan Rios

Equalization, Board of - Nicole Lorek

Exposition and Park Management - Rick Goldberg

Exposition and State Fair -Alex Holtz

F

Fair Employment and Housing - Natalie Bocanegra

Fair Political Practices Commission - Alex Holtz

Fairs And Expositions - Alex Holtz

Finance, Dept. of - Alex Holtz

Financial Institutions - See Business Oversight, Dept. of

Financial Information System for California (Fi$Cal) - Rick Goldberg

Fish And Wildlife - Natalie Bocanegra

Food And Agriculture - Nicole Lorek

Forestry & Fire Protection - Bryan Kimura

Franchise Tax Board - Rick Goldberg

G

Gambling Control, Bureau of - Alex Holtz

Gambling Control Commission - Alex Holtz

Government Operations Agency - Rick Goldberg

Governor's Office - Rick Goldberg

H

Health & Human Services Agency - Bryan Kimura

Health Facilities Financing Authority - Rick Goldberg

Health Care Services - Natalie Bocanegra

High Speed Rail Authority - Bryan Kimura

Highway Patrol - Bryan Kimura

Horse Racing Board - Dan Rios

Housing & Community Development - Nicole Lorek

Housing & Finance Agency - Nicole Lorek

Human Resources, California Dept. of (CalHR) (formerly Personnel Administration) - Natalie Bocanegra

I
 

Industrial Relations - Rick Goldberg

Information Coordinating Committee - Rick Goldberg

Inspector General - Rick Goldberg

Insurance, Dept. of - Dan Rios

J

Judicial Council of California - Alex Holtz

Justice - Natalie Bocanegra

L

Labor and Workforce Development Agency - Natalie Bocanegra

Lands Commission - Bryan Kimura 

Lottery Commission - Rick Goldberg

Library - Dan Rios

Little Hoover Commission - Rick Goldberg

Lt. Governor's Office - Alex Holtz

M

Managed Health Care - Natalie Bocanegra

Mental Health (See State Hospitals, Dept. of) - Rick Goldberg

Military, Dept. of  - Dan Rios

Motor Vehicles, Dept. of - Nicole Lorek

N

Native American Heritage Commission - Bryan Kimura

Natural Resources Agency - Bryan Kimura

Nursing, Board of - Alex Holtz

O

Osteopathic Medical Board of California - Alex Holtz 

P

Parks and Recreation - Rick Goldberg

Peace Officer Standards & Training Commission - Alex Holtz

Personnel Board - Bryan Kimura

Pesticide Regulation - Daniel Rios

Pilot Commissioners - Bryan Kimura

Planning & Research, Governor's Office - Rick Goldberg

Podiatric Medicine, Board of - Alex Holtz

Pollution Control Financing Authority - Nicole Lorek

Postsecondary Education Commission - Alex Holtz

Private Postsecondary & Vocational Education - Alex Holtz

Public Defender's Office - Bryan Kimura

Public Employee Post Employment Benefits - Daniel Rios

Public Employees Retirement Board - Natalie Bocanegra

Public Employment Relations Board - Bryan Kimura

Public Health - Ephraim Egan

Public Utilities Commission - Rick Goldberg

Public Works Board - Anna Woodrow

R

Real Estate Appraisers, Bureau of - Alex Holtz

Real Estate, Bureau of - Alex Holtz

Reclamation Board - (See Central Valley Flood Protection Board)

Rehabilitation - Alex Holtz

Resources Recycling and Recovery, Dept. of - Nicole Lorek

S

Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

San Diego River Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

San Francisco Bay Conservation - Bryan Kimura

San Joaquin River Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Scholarshare Investment Board - Nicole Lorek

School Financing Authority - Dan Rios

Science Center, California - Rick Goldberg

Secretary of State - Alex Holtz

Seismic Safety - Nicole Lorek

Senior Legislature, California - Nicole Lorek

Service & Volunteerism, Governor's Office - Daniel Rios

Sierra Nevada Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Social Services, Dept. of - Natalie Bocanegra

State Historical Building Safety Board -

State Hospitals, Dept. of - Ephraim Egan

State Job Training Coordinating Council - Alex Holtz

State Lands Commission - Bryan Kimura

State Teachers Retirement System - Rick Goldberg

Statewide Health Planning and Development - Nicole Lorek

Status Of Women, Commission on - Alex Holtz

Student Aid Commission - Rick Goldberg

Summer School For Arts - Alex Holtz

Systems Integration - Bryan Kimura

T

Tahoe Conservancy - Bryan Kimura

Tax Appeals - Rick Goldberg

Tax Credit Allocation - Natalie Bocanegra

Taxes and Fees Administration - Nicole Lorek

Teachers Credentialing Commission - Alex Holtz

Technology, Dept. of - Rick Goldberg

Toxic Substance Control - Nicole Lorek

Traffic Safety, Office of - Laurie Giberson

Transportation Agency - Laurie Giberson

Transportation, Dept. of - Laurie Giberson

Transportation Commission - Laurie Giberson

Treasurer's Office - Rick Goldberg

U

Urban Waterfront Areas - Bryan Kimura

V

Veterans Affairs - Rick Goldberg

Victims Compensation and Government Claims Board - Alex Holtz

Volunteers Commission, California - Rick Goldberg

W

Water Resources, Dept. of  - Viana Barbu

Water Resources Control Board - Viana Barbu

Wildlife Conservation Board - Natalie Bocanegra

Contact

Main Office

Department of General Services
Office of Legal Services

707 3rd Street, Suite 7-330, MS-102
West Sacramento, CA 95605
Phone:  (916) 376-5080

PROTESTS

CONTRACT AWARD PROTESTS

Patricia Galvan, Protest Coordinator

Phone: (916) 376-5098
Email: OLSProtests@dgs.ca.gov

Electronic Service of Process

Effective April 10, 2020 the Department of General Services, Office of Legal Services is accepting electronic service of process.  For questions please contact Patricia Galvan at (916) 376-5098.