Non-Industrial Disability Insurance
The Department of General Services (DGS) follows the rules and regulations put forward by the California Department of Human Resources (CalHR) and the Department of Employment Development Department (EDD) in the application and administration of the Non-Industrial Disability Insurance (NDI) program.
NDI is a wage continuation program completely paid for by the State, provided the employee meets established status criteria.
NDI may apply when a non-work related illness or injury prevents a represented employee (bargaining units 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 18, 19), or a non-represented employee (bargaining units 1 – 21), or an excluded employee (supervisor, manager, confidential designation) from performing his/her regular job duties due to his/her physical or mental condition.
“Disability” or “disabled” includes mental or physical illness or injury, including any injury or illness resulting from pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical condition. An employee is deemed disabled on any day when, because of his/her physical, mental, or medical condition he/she is unable to perform his/her regular customary work.
Benefits under the NDI program is payable for a period not exceeding 26 weeks for any one disability. The 26 week benefit period shall be equivalent to 182 calendar days. The payment is limited to $125 or $135, depending on the collective bargaining agreement that covers the employee.
Annual leave employees receive 50% of their gross salary in NDI benefits for up to 26 weeks. Employees in the annual leave program must elect to receive the 50% NDI benefits only (excluded employees receive a maximum of $135 per week) or to supplement at a rate of 75% or 100% income replacement at the time they file a claim for NDI. Employees who are in the annual leave program receive NDI payments equal to half pay with the ability to supplement up to 75% or 100 % of income with leave credits.
An employee must be a current active member of the California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS), the State Teachers’ Retirement System (STRS), full-time or part-time State Officer or employee of the Legislature. An employee must be in “compensated employment” (in pay status and not separated by a formal leave of absence).
All permanent part-time and full-time employees, probationary employees, and State Officers are covered under the program. Permanent part-time and permanent intermittent employees and State Officers who have at least six monthly compensated pay periods of service in the 18 months immediately preceding the pay period in which the disability begins, may also be eligible for NDI benefits on a pro-rated basis. Intermittent employees must have a total of 960 hours.
There is a seven-day waiting period for the majority of represented and all excluded employees covered by NDI. To determine the waiting period, the appropriate bargaining agreement for the employee should be reviewed. This waiting period will be waived if the employee is hospitalized. Emergency room care does not constitute hospitalization and will not waive the waiting period.
PENDING WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIM
An employee may file a claim for NDI benefits while his/her Workers’ Compensation claim is pending.
File a claim for ndi benefits
The table below identifies the process taken to file a claim for NDI benefits.
Note: Part A of the form must be completed by the Attendance Clerk or Senior Personnel Specialist. Insert the Senior Personnel Specialist’s name and telephone number, NOT the Personnel Specialist.
Attendance Clerk/Senior Personnel Specialist
Note: If any item is not completed on the form, it will be returned for completion and the benefit payment may be delayed for the employee.
Senior Personnel Specialist
Responsible Control Agency
- Employment Development Department
Laws and Regulations
- CA Code of Regulations 599.770 - 599.778
- Government Code section 19878 - 19886.2
Other Resource Materials
Department of General Services
Office of Human Resources
West Sacramento, CA 95605