In response to Governor Brown’s recent drought state of emergency declaration, California public school administrators have been asked to take immediate measures to reduce water use at campuses throughout the state. 

California is experiencing the worst drought in our state’s history and Governor Brown is asking every Californian to take extra steps to use water wisely,‖ said state architect Chester A. Widom, FAIA in a letter to district officials. ―I am asking school districts to lead by example in water conservation and water efficiency efforts, wherever possible.‖ 
School officials, who collectively manage approximately 11,000 facilities in 1,200 school districts throughout the state, were supplied with a water conservation best practices guide developed by the California Department of General Services and the Department of Water Resources. 

The Division of the State Architect (DSA), which oversees design and construction oversight for K–12 schools, and community colleges, provided school districts with additional resources including a water conservation report card developed by the Collaborative for High Performance Schools. DSA is also developing guidance for schools on the use of recycled water in concrete used in construction projects. 

With California facing one of the most severe droughts on record, Governor Brown declared a drought State of Emergency last month and directed state officials to take all necessary actions to prepare for water shortages, and the Governor, joined by legislative leaders, announced legislation to immediately help communities deal with the devastating dry conditions affecting our state and to provide funding to increase local water supplies. 

Governor Brown met with President Obama about crucial federal support during the ongoing drought last week, and the state continues to work with federal partners to ensure a coordinated drought response. Governor Brown and the administration have also expressed support for federal legislation introduced by Senators Feinstein and Boxer and Representatives Jim Costa, Tony Cárdenas and Sam Farr.