
Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise Certification Requirements – Frequently 
Asked Questions 
 
The following FAQ's provides detailed information for firms that are applying or re-
certifying their certification. 
 

1. Why is the certification program only for California disabled veterans? It 
should be like the federal disabled veteran program. 

• The DVBE certification program is authorized by the California Military and 
Veterans Code Section 999 et seq. and mandates that the disabled veteran be 
domiciled in California. 

 
2. Must a DVBE business be located in California? 
• No. The home office must be located within the United States. It cannot be a 

branch or subsidiary of a foreign firm. A foreign firm is considered a company 
outside of the United States. 

 
3. Does the corporation or a partnership have to be at least 51 percent owned 

by a disabled veteran to receive DVBE certification? 
• Yes. One or more qualified disabled veteran can meet this requirement. 

 
4. Can a disabled veteran owning only 51 percent of a limited liability company 

receive certification? 
• No. One or more disabled veterans must own 100 percent of a limited liability 

company. 
 

5. Must the disabled veteran manage and control the corporation? 
• The disabled veteran must demonstrate his/her ability to manage and control the 

day-to-day operations of the firm, as well as, the overall destiny of the business. 
 

6. Do the disabled veteran majority owners who own at least 51 percent of the 
business need to also manage and control the daily operations of the firm? 

• A disabled veteran who manages and controls the daily business is not required 
to be a business owner. However, an Award of Entitlement letter is required. 

 
7. What percentage rating of service-connected disability must a disabled 

veteran possess? 
• A disabled veteran must possess at least a 10 percent service-connected disability 

rating as stated in the Award of Entitlement Letter. 
 

8. How do I obtain a copy of my Award of Entitlement Letter? 
• To obtain a copy of your letter for free, you may go to Veteran Affairs eBenefits 

Homepage. Under "Manage Benefits", click on VA Letters to register and obtain 
an updated copy of your letter. As a Veteran, there is no cost to you for this service. 

 
9. Do you need my Discharge Papers (DD214)? 

https://www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits/homepage
https://www.ebenefits.va.gov/ebenefits/homepage


• No. Only the Award of Entitlement Letter is required. 
• Note: The Letter must be dated within six months of the DVBE application date. 

 
10. Why do you need federal tax returns? 
• Federal tax returns are mandated by the California Military & Veterans Code. Tax 

returns aid in establishing that the disabled veteran is the majority owner of the 
business. 

 
11. Do I need to submit federal tax returns for businesses that are affiliated with 

my firm? 
• Business affiliates are not required to be disclosed to obtain DVBE certification. 

However, disclosure of business affiliates is a Small Business application 
requirement. 

 
12. Do I need to submit the Employment Development Department's Quarterly 

Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) DE 9C with my 
application? 

• No. This is a Small Business application requirement. 
 

13. Why do we need to provide the Penalty of Perjury Declaration (812C) every 
time I renew my DVBE certification? 

• An 812C is required for each application. 
 

14. How do I apply for DVBE certification? 
• For instructions on applying for DVBE certification go to Apply for or Re-Apply for 

Certification as a Small Business and/or Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise 
webpage. 

 
15. Can I renew my DVBE Certification online? 
• Yes. You may complete the online re-certification application via Cal eProcure 

Home Page. Visit the Apply for or Re-Apply for Certification as a Small Business 
and/or Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise webpage for step-by-step 
instructions.  

 
16. What is the term for DVBE certification? 
• The term is one year unless the business also holds a Small Business certification 

that is designated as a microbusiness. Small businesses designated as a 
microbusiness receive a two-year term. 

 
17. How can I expedite my application? 
• For instructions on how to request an expedite refer to the File Certification 

Expedite Request for Business webpage. 
 

18. I didn't get a certification letter. Can you send me one? 
• Yes. Contact the OSDS via phone or email to request a copy of your letter. 
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Office of Small Business & DVBE Services (OSDS) 
 
If you have any questions in regards to the certification frequently asked questions, or the 
certification process, contact the office at (916) 375-4940 or OSDShelp@dgs.ca.gov.  

mailto:OSDShelp@dgs.ca.gov

