
HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 16-014 DATE ISSUED: 

6/29/2016 
SUBJECT: 

Lactation Accommodation 
REFERENCE: 

PML 2016-017 
TO: 

All DGS Employees 
SUPERCEDES: 

PML 2002-004 

PLEASE ENSURE THIS INFORMATION IS SHARED WITH YOUR EMPLOYEES  

Purpose 
The purpose of this memorandum is to remind departments of the provisions in the 
California Labor Code sections 1030 through 1033, and of the amendments to section 7 of 
the Fair Labor Standards Act, brought about by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care 
Act in March 2010. 

Provision Requirements 
These provisions require employers to provide a reasonable amount of break time and an 
appropriate location to accommodate an employee desiring to express breast milk for the 
employee’s infant child. 

Departments are encouraged to develop or review existing lactation accommodation 
guidelines to ensure they are flexible, accommodating, and in compliance with current 
California and federal laws. 

The statutes require that the time allotted for the purpose of expressing breast milk run 
concurrently with any break time already provided to the employee, if possible. Typically, a 
lactating woman will need approximately 15 to 30 minutes for each session and they may 
occur every 2 to 3 hours. Frequency and duration will vary. While the routine break times 
provided may be sufficient for some women to complete the process, others may need 
additional time. Although law does not require employers to allow employees to extend 
their workday (i.e., begin work earlier or end work later) to make up for unpaid break time 
used for expressing breast milk, departments are encouraged to provide flexible 
scheduling for those employees who choose to make up for any unpaid break time. 

The statutes further require employers to provide the employee with the use of a room or 
other location in which to express breast milk. The room or location must be in close 
proximity to the employee’s work area, other than a restroom, and must be shielded from 
view and free from intrusion by coworkers and the public. The room or location where the 
employee normally works may be used for this purpose if it otherwise meets the 
requirements. 

Examples of workplace spaces which may be appropriate include a vacant office, a 
woman’s lounge area, a first aid room, a dressing room, or a room or office space which 
can be made available during specific times of the day for this purpose. To facilitate 
privacy, a lock may be added to the door or a sign may be posted on the entrance 
indicating the room is in use. 



Violation 
California law provides that an employer who violates the provisions of this statute may be 
subject to a $100 civil penalty for each violation. 

Questions 
For questions concerning this memorandum, please email questions to Lisa York. 

LISA YORK, Personnel Officer 
Office of Human Resources 
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