About this Service

The Government Claims Program (GCP) reviews and processes claims for money or damages against the state. In general, anyone who wishes to file a lawsuit against the state or its employees for damages must first pursue an administrative remedy through the GCP claims process.

Complete and submit the Government Claim Form, including the required $25 filing fee or Fee Waiver Request, and supporting documents, to the GCP.

See Information Guides and Resources below for more information. 

Claims for death or injury to a person, damage to personal property or damage to growing crops must be filed within six (6) months after the incident occurred. All other claims must be filed within one (1) year after the incident occurred.

See below for information on How to File a Late Claim.

If your claim should have been filed within six months, and you missed the deadline, you may request leave to present a late claim within one year of the date of incident by explaining your reason for filing beyond the deadline on the Government Claim Form or in a supplemental letter. If the department does not take action on the application within 45 days, the application is deemed denied.

Review and Processing of Claims

When the GCP receives a claim, staff determines if it meets criteria for sufficiency, jurisdiction and timeliness. Often, the program works closely with the affected department in an effort to resolve the matter. Staff then develops a recommendation based on the case facts and input from the affected department.

Payment of Claims

Payment is made either by the affected department from existing funds or through an appropriation established by legislation (an annual omnibus claims bill) approved by the Legislature and signed by the governor.

For additional information please see Government Code Sections 910 - 913.2.

Frequently Asked Questions

GCP Does Not Handle Claims For The Following:

If your claim is under $10,000 and is against Department of Transportation (Caltrans), do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program.

File your claim with Caltrans directly using form (LD0274) - Claim Against Department of Transportation for Amounts $10,000.00 and Less.

Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
1120 N St.
Sacramento, CA 95814

Website: https://dot.ca.gov/online-services/submit-damage-claim
Phone (916) 654-2852

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program

A claim against the California State University must be filed with the Office of Risk Management and Public Safety at the address below within six (6) months after which the incident or event occurred along with a $25 claim filing fee made out to "Trustees of CSU".  Completed claims must be delivered or mailed to:

The California State University - Office of the Chancellor
Risk Management and Public Safety 
401 Golden Shore, 5th Floor
Long Beach, CA 90802-4210

Visit the CSU Risk Management and Public Safety web site for further information or to obtain a California State University Claim Form.

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program

If the case involves a county, city or other local governmental entity or employee, the claim should be filed directly with the local city or county's governing board or clerk. Please contact the city or county directly for information on how to file a claim with the specific entity.

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program

Claims against a judicial branch entity, such as a court or judge, should be submitted as described in California Government Code section 915(c). Generally, a claim, claim amendment, or an application for leave to file a late claim shall be presented to a judicial branch entity as follows:

  • Delivering or mailing it to the court executive officer, if the claim is against a superior court or a judge, court executive officer, or trial court employee.

  • Delivering or mailing it to the clerk/administrator of the court of appeals, if against a court of appeals or a judge of that court.

  • Delivering or mailing it to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, if against the Supreme Court or a judge of that court.

  • Delivering or mailing it to the Secretariat of the Judicial Council, if against the Judicial Council or the Administrative Office of the Courts

Please contact the court involved for further details.

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program

Claims for stale dated warrants should be sent to the department who issued the original warrant.  If you are unsure which department issued the original warrant, you can use this link to match the agency code on the warrant to the issuing department. Agency Codes

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program.

Claims against State Compensation Insurance Fund are handled directly by the State Compensation Insurance Fund.
Claims must be mailed or delivered to:

State Compensation Insurance Fund

Corporate Legal Department

PO Box 8192

Pleasanton CA 94588-5792

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program. Contact the campus directly.

Claims involving campuses of the University of California, such as parking lot defects, dormitories or health centers are handled at the campus from which the claim arose.

For a listing of those campuses, please visit http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/campuses/welcome.html.

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program

Claims for unredeemed bonds must be filed with the State Treasurer's Office.
Claims must be mailed to:

State Treasurer's Office
P.O. Box 942809
Sacramento, CA 94209-0001

Phone (916) 653-2995

Claims Resolved Directly by the Involved Agency

Do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program.

If you're claim is under $1,000.00 and is against:

  • California Highway Patrol

  • Department of Consumer Affairs

  • Department of General Services

  • Department of Motor Vehicles

  • Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation

  • Department of State Hospitals

See the name of the agency below for their contact information.

California Highway Patrol, Legal Coordination Unit
P.O. Box 942898
Sacramento, CA 94298-0001
Phone: (916) 843-3020

Department of Consumer Affairs, Legal Affairs Division
1625 North Market Blvd, Suite S-309
Sacramento, CA 95834
Phone: (916) 574-8220 

Department of General Services
Attn: Claims Unit
707 3rd St, 1st Floor
West Sacramento, CA 95605
Phone: (916) 376-5300
Email: claims@dgs.ca.gov

Department of Motor Vehicles
Attn: DMV Claims Coordinator, MS E113
P.O. Box 932382
Sacramento, CA 94232-3820
Phone: (916) 657-8152

Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
Office of Legal Affairs
P.O. Box 942883
Sacramento, CA 94283-0001

Department of State Hospitals
Attn: Accounting, Claims Coordinator
1600 Ninth Street, Room 250
Sacramento, CA 95814-6476

If your claim is under $100.00, do not file a claim with the Government Claims Program.

Contact the agency directly. For a list of agencies, see CA.gov's Agency Directory.

CONTACT

Government Claims Program

Office of Risk and Insurance Management
Department of General Services

P.O. Box 989052 MS-414
West Sacramento, CA 95798-9052

Call (800) 955-0045
Fax (916) 376-6387
Email gcinfo@dgs.ca.gov

Claims Against Department of Transportation (Caltrans) for $10,000 or less

Department of Transportation
1120 N St.
Sacramento, CA 95814

Call (916) 654-2852

Website http://www.dot.ca.gov/damageclaims.html