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Preface

About this Handbook

This handbook contains topics relating to the State Relocatable Classroom Program. These topics help
organize the program’s process and make it easier to locate specific information. The first topic is an “Over-
view” of the key points of the program. It also includes a description of the administering body of the law.
The remaining topics follow the program’s application process.

Updates
To obtain the latest version of this handbook you may download it from the Internet (at no cost):

»  www.dgs.ca.gov/opsc
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Overview

Introduction

The State Relocatable Classroom Program provides classroom facilities to School Districts and County
Superintendents of Schools to house the districts’ kindergarten through twelfth grade student population.
This handbook provides guidelines necessary to prepare an application under the provisions of the State
Relocatable Classroom Law, Chapter 14, Part 10, Section 17085. (Previously Chapter 25, Part 10, Section
17785), Barclays California Code of Regulation, Section 1862.50.

Eligibility Criteria/Priority of Placement

On April 28, 1999, the State Allocation Board (SAB) revised the current eligibility criteria for funding prior-
ity levels to be consistent with the School Facility Program (SFP). The priority levels determine the order in
which buildings will be approved for placement. The priority levels for placement are:

Priority Levels for Placement

PRIORITY LEVEL

CRITERIA

A Facility Hardship: eligibility based on the district having a SAB approved Lease-Purchase Program
(LLP) hardship project, or a SFP facility hardship project; or,
Standard Eligibility: eligibility based on the standard eligibility formula using basic teaching station
loading standards “and a one year projection for Average Daily Attendance (ADA) as determined by
the Enrollment Certification Projection, Form SAB 50-01; or,
the district application for State Relocatable Classroom(s) may be based on “the number of teaching
stations approved (but not yet constructed) pursuant to the SFP”

B Elgibility based on unhoused community day pupils.

C Eligibility based on the district agreeing to hire an additional teacher for the relocatable classroom.

D Eligibility based on interim housing needs during a modernization project.

E Eligibility based on:

« licensed child day care programs; or
- recreation and enrichment activity programs for school-age children on a school site.
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Time Limit for Delivery
The following conditions shall apply to all applications for relocatable classroom(s):

»  Districts must submit the completed site and building plans to the Division of State Architect (DSA) within
60 days of receiving the manufacturer’s building plans from the OPSC or the building may be reassigned to
another district.

» Districts must accept delivery of the relocatable classroom(s) within 60 days after it is deemed available by
the OPSC or the building assignment may be reallocated.

California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA)

Districts must certify compliance with the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) on the Applica-
tion to Lease State Relocatable Classroom(s), Form SAB 25-2.

Multi-Track Year-Round Education (MTYRE)

Districts other than high school districts must certify on the Application to Lease State Relocatable
Classroom(s), Form SAB 25-2, that it meets the Multi-Track Year-Round Education (MTYRE) requirement
addressing the feasibility of the district to proceed on a MTYRE calendar by the California Department of
Education. Specific guidelines and requirements for MTYRE may be obtained from the:

» Waiver and Review Committee
California Department of Education
School Facilities Planning Division
PO Box 944272
Sacramento, CA 94244-2720

Tel: 916.322.6249
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Section 2

Application Process

Introduction
To lease relocatable classrooms, the district provides initial information verifying eligibility. In addition, the

district must certify that it meets the conditions as outlined on the Application to Lease State Relocatable
Classroom(s), Form SAB 25-2.

Documents Required before SAB Approval

The following documents are required to prepare an application for SAB approval of a relocatable classroom:

» Enrollment Certification/Projection, Form SAB 50-01
» Eligibility Worksheet, Form SAB 25-1
» Application to Lease State Relocatable Classroom(s), Form SAB 25-2

Documents Required after SAB Approval
The following documents are required after SAB approval:

» Site Readiness Certification, Form SAB 25-3
» Certification for Reimbursement, Form SAB 25-4

Placement Process after SAB Approval

When relocatable classrooms are available and the OPSC has a completed application package, an item will
be presented to the SAB for approval. After approval of the application, the district:

» Selects an architect, who performs the following:
— Develops site plans for DSA approval.
— Obtains the manufacturer’s building plans.
— Submits site and building plans to DSA within 60 days of obtaining manufacturer’s building plans.
— Delivers a copy of the DSA approved site and building plans to the OPSC and the building manufacturer or mover.
— Assists the District with the selection of a site inspector.
— Sends the Verified Report, Form DSA-6 and Building Inspector Qualification Record, Form SSS-5 for DSA approval.
— Issues a final, 100 percent complete, Verified Report, Form DSA-6 for the DSA and sends copy to the OPSC.
— Signs “Notice of Completion” for the DSA and the OPSC.
» Selects a site inspector (with the architect’s assistance).
» Contracts for electrical services, if applicable.
» Purchases furniture and equipment.
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» Accepts delivery of the classrooms within 60 days of plan approval or building availability.

» Signs“Notice of Completion.”

» Obtains insurance for building.

» Submits Inspector of Record’s 100 percent complete final Verified Report (Form DSA-6) to the OPSC.
» Signs lease agreement that was issued to the district by the OPSC and returns it for final processing.
» Occupies the building.

» Requests reimbursement for eligible costs on Certification for Reimbursement, Form SAB 25-4.
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Section 3

Preparing for Delivery

Introduction

The district is responsible for obtaining the architectural and on-site inspection services needed for delivery
and placement of the relocatable classroom(s). The costs associated with the electrical hook-up, fire alarm
hook-up and DSA plan check are reimbursable up to a maximum of $9,450.00 per classroom. The district is

responsible for the insurance and normal maintenance of the relocatable classroom(s). These costs are not
reimbursable by the SAB.

Site Preparation

The district, at its own expense, must make the following site preparation prior to the delivery of the

relocatable classroom(s):

»

»

»

»

»

»

»

Prepare a location on the school site that is cleared and graded with the elevation of a 30' x 50' pad within
9" of level in any direction. Buildings must be placed a minimum of four feet apart.

Determine that the site has a minimum soil bearing capacity of 1,000 pounds per square foot.

Build a pad at least 30" x 50, turf-free with at least 2 percent drainage to prevent water from ponding
beneath and around relocatable(s).

Place the relocatable(s) in location(s) clear of any sprinkler systems to reduce the problems of deterioriza-
tion, dry rot or rust. Any damage to the relocatable(s) resulting from unsuitable placement is a maintenance
responsibility of the district.

Ensure the location and access allow for maneuvering space of, or the entry turnaround and exit for, a large
truck and trailer (85 feet clearance at front or back). Any damages to the district’s property or to the site
caused by inadequate maneuvering space for the delivery of a relocatable classroom(s) is the responsibility of
the district.

Furnish a hard surfaced walkway in compliance with Title 21, Chapter 1, Subchapter 2, of the California
Administrative Code “Access Public Building by Persons with Disabilities.”

Connection of the building to an adequate fire alarm system in accordance with current law.

Delivery to Site

Relocatable classroom(s) will be delivered and installed by the building manufacturer or mover when the
site plans have been approved by the DSA. The plans must indicate the building location, handicap access,
fire alarm connection, and electrical service. Any deviations from the approved plan must be made by a

change order approved by the DSA.
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Section 4

District Responsibilities

Utility Costs

The completion of design and construction of the electrical and fire alarm connection is the responsibility
of the school district; however, the districts will be reimbursed for the electrical hook-up cost in accordance
with SAB policy. See Section 5, Reimbursements for reimbursement amounts.

Lease Payments

The district must make lease payments of $4,000 per year for each relocatable classroom delivered. The
lease will start once the State contractor or manufacturer has completed set-up of the building and has sub-
mitted a Verified Report, Form DSA-6 to the OPSC, but not more than 30 days after delivery of the building
to the site.

Hardships

The SAB policy allows school districts that have a Lease-Purchase Program hardship project or a School
Facility Program facility hardship project to be eligible for a rental decrease of $2000 per year. The reduced
rental payment applies only to currently leased relocatable classroom(s) located on the site where the
“hardship” project is approved. Districts must submit a written request for the reduced rent accompanied
with an approved Facility Hardship (FH) SAB item.

Maintenance

Pursuant to the terms of the lease, districts shall at their own expense undertake all necessary maintenance,
repair, renewal, and replacement costs to ensure the relocatable classroom(s) are in good repair and work-
ing order at all times.

Insurance

Districts are required to keep the property adequately insured at all times at their own expense, with ex-
tended coverage for vandalism and malicious mischief. The State must be listed as beneficiary against fire.
Insurance effective date must commence on the date the manufacturer has completed delivery and set-up
of the building.
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Conditions of Occupancy

The classroom(s) may not be occupied until the completion of the installation as evidenced by issuance of
the architect and Inspector of Record’s final, 100 percent complete Verified Report, Form DSA-6.
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Section 5

Reimbursements

District’s Responsibilities
The district is responsible for obtaining the architectural and on-site inspection services needed to place
the relocatable classroom(s). The cost associated with the site preparation, electrical hook-up, plumb-

ing connection, DSA plan checking, insurance, and maintenance are also the district’s responsibility. The
district will be reimbursed up to $9,450.

Documentation Required for Reimbursement
The district must provide the following documentation for reimbursement:
» Certification for Reimbursement, Form SAB 25-4.

» The Architect’s final 100 percent completed Verified Report, Form DSA-6.
» The Inspector of Record’s final 100 percent completed Verified Report, Form DSA-6.

Reimbursement Amounts

The district may be reimbursed for the following costs per classroom:

ITEM REIMBURSEMENT AMOUNT
DSA/ORS Plan Checking Fees upto$ 450
Eligible Architect Fees up to $2,000
Eligible Electrical Hook-Up Costs up to $3,500
Eligible Fire Alarm Hook-Up Costs up to $1,000
Eligible On-Site Inspector Fees upto$ 500
Furniture and Equipment up to $2,000

Total reimbursement is limited to $9,450 per classroom.

Reimbursement requests must be submitted to the OPSC within 9o days of delivery or the district will be
deemed ineligible for reimbursement.
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Section 6

Special Circumstances

Building Alterations

Relocatable classroom(s) may not be altered or modified in any way.

Relocating a Classroom

If the district has a greater need for a relocatable classroom(s) at another school within its jurisdiction, it
may relocate the classroom(s) at its own expense. However, the district must notify the OPSC, in writing,
prior to relocating the building. In addition, the district must obtain the DSA approval for the new site.

A copy of the architect and inspector’s final, 100 percent complete, Verified Report, Form DSA-6 must be
provided to the OPSC for the new site.

Returning a Classroom

To return a relocatable classroom(s) the district must send a letter to the OPSC stating the current site
of building(s), address, and the OPSC building number(s) to be returned along with the date the district
wishes to return the classroom(s).

The costs associated with relocatable classroom(s) return will be borne by the State; however, site restora-
tion costs after termination of use of facilities are the responsibility of the district. The district is required
to restore the relocatable classroom(s) to a “like new” condition and must assure that the relocatable
classroomy(s) is totally accessible to the moving contractor. If the moving contractor arrives at the site and
the relocatable classroom(s) are not accessible (85 feet clearance at front or back), the school district will be
responsible for any additional costs attributable to the move.

The State shall be allowed to leave the relocatable classroom(s) on the district site until such time as the
State needs to remove them for delivery to another district.

District Pre-Purchase

The SAB policy dated July 22, 1987, allows eligible districts to purchase a relocatable classroom with their
own funds when adequate funds are not available to the SAB. These costs may be authorized for reim-
bursement by the SAB when funds are subsequently made available. Contact the OPSC, State Relocatable
Classroom Program Team, for details.
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District Purchase or “Buyout”/Base Purchase Price Table

Education Code Section 17089.2 allows school districts and County Superintendents of Schools to purchase
State Relocatable Classrooms that were under lease on or prior to December 1, 1991, either by outright
purchase or by a nine (9) year interest free installment payment plan. Installment payments shall be a

minimum of $2,500 for the first year, $2,750 minimum for the second year, and not less than $3,000 for the
third through ninth year, or until paid off. The purchase price to be paid by the district for each relocatable
classroom is determined by utilizing the SAB’s base purchase price reduced by the rental payments made
by the district (see following table ). Under no circumstance shall the purchase cost to the district be less
than $4,000 per relocatable classroom. Contact the OPSC State Relocatable Classroom Program Team for

additional details.

Base Purchase Price

SCHOOL YEAR BASE PRICE SCHOOL YEAR BASE PRICE
09/80-08/81 $32,500 09/86-08/87 $35,500
09/81-08/82 $33,000 09/87-08/88 $36,000
09/82-08/83 $33,500 09/88-08/89 $36,500
09/83-08/84 $34,000 09/89-08/90 $37,000
09/84-08/85 $34,500 09/90-08/91 $37,500
09/85-08/86 $35,000 09/91-12/01/91 $38,000

Documentation Required for “Buyout”

The district must provide the following documentation:

» Application to Purchase State Relocatable Classroom(s), Form SAB 25-46

» Application to Purchase State Relocatable Classroom(s) Attachment A, Form SAB 25-46A
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Section 7

Furniture and Equipment

Introduction

Included with the relocatable classrooms are allowances for furniture and equipment to accommodate one
teacher and up to 27 students.

Ordering Furniture and Equipment

Upon approval of the State Relocatable Classroom Application by the SAB, the district is authorized to
order furniture to adequately equip a classroom. The OPSC will reimburse the district up to $2,000 per
relocatable classroom for furniture and equipment which is included in the total reimbursement of $9,450
per building (Refer to page 11 for more information regarding reimbursements).
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Section 8

Forms

The following forms are used in conjunction with the State Relocatable Classroom Program. It is the user’s
responsibility to check the OPSC’s website (SAB Forms) for the most current version of the form as older ver-
sions of the form may not be accepted.

»

»

»

»

»

»

»

SAB 25-1 - Eligibility Worksheet

SAB 25-2 — Application to Lease State Relocatable Classroom(s)

SAB 25-3 - Site Readiness Notification

SAB 25-4 - Certification for Reimbursement

SAB 25-46 - Application to Purchase State Relocatable Classroom(s)

SAB 25-46A - Application to Purchase State Relocatable Classroom(s) Attachment A
DSA-6 - Verified Report (available from the Division of the State Architect)
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