STATE OF CALIFORNIA
BUILDING STANDARDS COMMISSION
ADDITIONAL 15-DAY EXPRESS TERMS AND RATIONALE
FOR PROPOSED BUILDING STANDARDS
OF THE DIVISION OF THE STATE ARCHITECT
REGARDING THE CALIFORNIA GREEN BUILDING STANDARDS CODE,
CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS, TITLE 24, PART 11
(DSA SS/CC 03/21)
No state agency may adopt, amend, or repeal a regulation which has been changed from that which was originally made available to the public pursuant to Section 11346.5, unless the change is (1) nonsubstantial or solely grammatical in nature, or (2) sufficiently related to the original text that the public was adequately placed on notice that the change could result from the originally proposed regulatory action. If a sufficiently related change is made, the full text of the resulting adoption, amendment, or repeal, with the change clearly indicated, shall be made available to the public for at least 15 or 45 days before the agency adopts, amends, or repeals the resulting regulation.
Any written comments received regarding the change must be responded to in the final statement of reasons required by Section 11346.9 (Government Code Section 11346.8(c)). 

If using assistive technology, please adjust your settings to recognize underline, strikeout, double strikeout and ellipsis. Double underline will be indicated by parenthetical notes within the text. The notes will not be codified or published in the code.
LEGEND for EXPRESS TERMS (California only codes - Parts 1, 6, 8, 11, 12)
· Existing California amendments appear upright.
· Unmodified California 45-day amendments appear in underline and strikeout.
· California additional 15-day amendments appear in double underline and double strikeout.
· Ellipsis ( ...) indicate existing text remains unchanged.
· Rationale: The justification for the change is shown after each section or series of related changes.

ADDITIONAL 15-DAY EXPRESS TERMS
Item 10
Chapter 5 Nonresidential Mandatory Measures, Section 5.506 Indoor Air Quality
5.506.3 Carbon dioxide (CO2) monitoring in classrooms. (DSA-SS) Each public K-12 school classroom, as listed in Table 120.1-A of the California Energy Code, shall be equipped with a carbon dioxide monitor (begin double underline) or sensor (end double underline) that meets the following requirements:
1. The (begin double strikeout) device (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) monitor (end double underline) or sensor shall be permanently affixed in a tamper-proof manner in each classroom between three and six feet above the floor and at least five feet away from doors and operable windows.
2. (begin double strikeout) The (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) When the (end double underline) monitor or sensor (begin double underline) is not integral to an Energy Management Control System (EMCS) the monitor or sensor (end double underline) shall display the carbon dioxide readings (begin double underline) on the device (end double underline). When the sensor is integral to an (begin double strikeout) Energy Management Control System (EMCS), (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) EMCS (end double underline) the carbon dioxide readings shall be available to and regularly monitored by facility personnel.
3. (begin double strikeout) The (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) A (end double underline) monitor shall provide (begin double strikeout) a (end double strikeout) notification through a visual indicator on the monitor when the carbon dioxide levels in the classroom have exceeded 1,100 ppm. (begin double strikeout) When (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) A sensor (end double underline) integral to an EMCS (begin double strikeout) , (end double strikeout) (begin double underline) shall provide (end double underline) notification to facility personnel (begin double strikeout) shall be provided (end double strikeout) through a visual and/or audible indicator when the carbon dioxide levels in the classroom have exceeded 1,100 ppm.  
4. The monitor or sensor shall measure carbon dioxide levels at minimum 15-minute intervals and shall maintain a record of previous carbon dioxide measurements of not less than 30 days duration.
5. The monitor or sensor used to measure carbon dioxide levels shall have the capacity to measure carbon dioxide levels with a range of 400 ppm to 2000 ppm or greater.
6. The monitor or (begin double underline) sensor (end double underline) shall be certified by the manufacturer to be accurate within 75 ppm at 1,000 ppm carbon dioxide concentration shall be certified by the manufacturer to require calibration no more frequently than once every five years.

Rationale: DSA has clarified the language to add consistency when describing the device used to track Co2 levels in the classroom. In the previous language the terms “monitor” and “sensor” were used interchangeably.  Under the new language a monitor is considered a stand-alone device and a sensor controls an economizer – either stand-alone or integral to an Energy Management Control System.
Notation: DSA-SS
Authority: Education Code section 17310.
Reference(s): Education Code sections 17280-17317.
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