The California Building Why we collect a surcharge on building permits
Standards Commission

The California legislation that created the requirement for the permit fee is Senate
Bill 1473 of 2008 (SB 1473, Chapter 719, Statutes of 2008). It added Sections
18931.6 and 18931.7 to the Health and Safety Code (HSC) creating the Building
Standards Administration Special Revolving Fund (BSASRF). The BSASRF
supports specific activities of the California Building Standards Commission, the
Department of Housing and Community Development, and the Office of the State
Fire Marshal, as noted below.

HSC Section 18931.7 reads, in part:

“...emphasis [is to be] placed on the development, adoption, publication, and
updating of green building standards, the updating of verification guidelines for
Tier 1 or Tier 2 green building standards and educational efforts, including, but not
limited to, training for local building officials associated with green building
standards.”

Because of this emphasis on green building standards, the fee is sometimes called
the Green Fee. It's also known by the name of the bill, SB 1473.

How the BSASRF fee is calculated

The fee is determined by the valuation of each building permit issued by a city or
county in California. The minimum fee is $1 for permits with valuation up to
$25,000, and it increases by $1 for each additional $25,000 (or fraction
thereof) of the permit valuation (california Administrative Code, Title 24, Chapter 1, Article 5).
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For more information
regarding the BSASRF

Visit The Building Permit Fee
page on CBSC’s website:

o www.dgs.ca.gov/BSC

e Read the “Guide to Filing Building
Permit Fees”

e Access the California
Administrative Code, Title 24,
Chapter 1, Article 5

BSASRF Fund Administrator:

California Building Standards Commission
2525 Natomas Park Drive, Suite 130
Sacramento, CA 95833

Phone: 916-263-0916

E-mail: chsc@dgs.ca.gov
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Benefits to the Public and Industry Professionals

e Continued improvement of green building standards found in the California
Green Building Standards Code (CALGreen, Part 11 of Title 24, California
Code of Regulations).

¢ Increased safety and reduced environmental impact of new construction

and remodels.

e The public and industry professionals may receive training at no cost
regarding the California Building Standards Code (Title 24), with emphasis
on CALGreen and the public rulemaking process.

¢ Knowledgeable design professionals, contractors, builders, building

officials and inspectors.

Benefits to Local Jurisdictions

e Jurisdictions may retain up to 10 percent of the collected permit fee for
administrative costs and code enforcement education for building officials
and inspectors.

¢ Building officials and inspectors may receive training at no cost regarding
the California Building Standards Code (Title 24, California Code of
Regulations), with emphasis on the California Green Building Standards
Code (CALGreen, Part 11 of Title 24) and the public rulemaking process.
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