Text/HTML

Construction Services

Construction Services Branch (CSB)
Steve Durham, Branch Chief - CSB
(916) 375-4842 -- Fax (916) 375-4828
Steve.Durham@dgs.ca.gov

Gary Sills, Assistant Branch Chief, CSB -Construction Management Unit
(916) 375-4843 -- Fax (916) 375-4828 Gary.Sills@dgs.ca.gov 
 
Doug Brenning, Assistant Branch Chief, CSB - Direct Construction Unit
(916) 375-4870 -- Fax (916) 375-4828 Doug.Brenning@dgs.ca.gov

CSB understands the importance of quality service that meets the customer's needs. Nearly half of contract construction services and all direct construction services are provided to customer agencies that have alternative sources of service.

CSB is comprised of two functional units. They are:
  • Construction Management Unit (CMU)
  • Direct Construction Unit (DCU)

Services

CSB offers a full range of construction phase services for State public works projects. These services include:
  • Construction Management
  • Quality Assurance Inspection and Testing
  • Code inspection to ensure compliance with applicable building codes and regulations
  • After-Contract Guarantee enforcement and dispute resolution
  • Direct Construction
  • Rapid Design and Construction

Any combination of construction phase services are available to agencies that administer their own construction programs. Services are tailored to suit the strengths and weaknesses of the client agency's support staff, operational needs, scheduling requirements, budgetary constraints, and project sensitivity.

Construction Services Branch Contacts:
 
Area I Construction Supervisor, CMU:
John Palecek, (707) 265-2960 or John.Palecek@dgs.ca.gov
630 Airpark Road, Suite B, Napa, CA 94558-7516
 
Area II Construction Supervisor, CMU:
Andy Ellicock, (916) 928-4666 or Andy.Ellicock@dgs.ca.gov
1164 W. National Drive, Suite 30, Sacramento, CA 95834
 
Area III Construction Supervisor, CMU:
Gregg Melton, (213) 576-6278 or Gregg.Melton@dgs.ca.gov
320 West Fourth Street, Suite 330, Los Angeles, CA 90013-1105
 
Area IV Construction Supervisor, CMU:
David Pettway, (213) 620-3100 or David.Pettway@dgs.ca.gov
320 West Fourth Street, Suite 330, Los Angeles, CA 90013-1105

Assistant Section Chief, CSS, DCU:
Craig Valente, (916) 375-4870 or Craig.Valente@dgs.ca.gov
707 Third Street, 6th Floor, West Sacramento, CA 95605
 
Support Operations Manager, DCU:
Morris Taylor, (916) 375-4861 or Morris.Taylor@dgs.ca.gov
707 Third Street, 6th Floor, West Sacramento, CA 95605
 
DCU Northern Area Office:
Viren Panikker, (916) 263-0503 or Viren.Panikker@dgs.ca.gov
4570 Pell Drive, Sacramento, CA 95838
 
DCU Southern Area Office:
Jay Murphy, (562) 863-7750 or Jay.Murphy@dgs.ca.gov
11401 Bloomfield Avenue #57, Norwalk, CA 90650
 
DCU Pasadena Project Office:
Roger Cooper, (626) 441-0056 or Roger.Cooper@dgs.ca.gov
762 St. John Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91105

Construction Services Area Map