Your feedback can help improve the DGS website. Tell us what you think ×
Menu
Search

Pharmaceutical Acquisitions Section

 About Us
DGS' Pharmaceutical Acquisitions Section (Rx Section) administers the Statewide Pharmaceutical Program (SPP).  The SPP allows state and local governmental entities to access contracts that can provide substantial savings for purchasing bulk pharmaceuticals and related pharmaceutical services.  The SPP operates under Government Code Sections 14977-14982.

Our Mission 


Coordinate the efforts of various state and local governmental entities, as appropriate, to identify and implement opportunities for cost savings and quality improvement regarding pharmaceuticals and medical supplies.

SPP Participation


Four state agencies are required to participate in the SPP:

  • Department of State Hospitals
  • California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR)
    • California Correctional Health Care Services
    • Division of Juvenile Justice
  • Department of Developmental Services

In addition, Government Code 14977.5(b) allows other state and local agencies to participate in the SPP.  To participate in the SPP, please complete the SPP Entity Enrollment Application.

Pharmaceutical Acquisitions Section Scorecard

The Statewide Pharmaceutical Program (SPP) achieves cost savings through coordinated pharmaceutical purchasing, formulary and utilization controls, leveraged pricing agreements, and wholesaler agreements. SPP’s goal is to achieve an average savings of 60% on Suggested Wholesale Prices.

California Pharmaceutical Collaborative (CPC)

Formularies

Pharmaceutical Acquisitions Section Staff


Kelli Berliner

(916) 375-4548

kelli.berliner@dgs.ca.gov

Health Program Manager

 

Mark Harlan, MPH

(916) 375-4558

mark.harlan@dgs.ca.gov

Health Program Specialist

 

Vimbai Kajese, MPH

(916) 375-4926

vimbai.Kajese@dgs.ca.gov

Health Program Specialist

 

Mike Namba, PharmD, MS

(916) 375-4369

mike.namba@dgs.ca.gov

Pharmaceutical Consultant

 

Mary Anne Selvage

(916) 375-4346

Maryanne.selvage@dgs.ca.gov

Health Program Specialist

 

Elizabeth Winward, MA

(916) 375-4551

elizabeth.winward@dgs.ca.gov

Health Program Specialist

 

Kelli Flores

(916) 375-4465
kelli.flores@dgs.ca.gov
Health Program Specialist

Sheila Nazari

 

(916) 375-4470

sheila.nazari@dgs.ca.gov

Student Assistant



What's New