Your feedback can help improve the DGS website. Tell us what you think ×
Menu
Search

About the Office of Risk and Insurance Management (ORIM)

The goal of our office is to assist agencies in managing exposures to accidental losses arising from general operations, employment, motor vehicles, property ownership, and risk financing. Our services include:

  • Insurance procurement
  • Claims administration
  • Health and safety training
  • Contract management
  • Consulting on insurance requirements in contracts
  • Other risk management-related services

Various health, safety and wellness activities are also provided to Department of General Services (DGS) employees only. Additionally, we provide emergency planning to DGS employees to ensure they are not only kept aware of preparedness issues, but are in a state of readiness should any anticipated or unforeseen emergency or disaster occur.

Contact Information

By Mail

Department of General Services
Office of Risk and Insurance Management (ORIM)
707 3rd Street, 1st Floor
West Sacramento, California 95605

By Telephone

Main Line: 916.376.5300

Office Administration

Kim Hunt
(Office Chief)
916.376.5271
kim.hunt@dgs.ca.gov

Isabel Cortez-Raj
(Staff Risk Manager - Administration)
916.376.5297
isabel.cortez@dgs.ca.gov

Rosa Bellamy  
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst)
916.376.1662
rosa.bellamy@dgs.ca.gov

Karen Doran  
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst)
916.375.5985
karen.doran@dgs.ca.gov

Kevin Tateyama
(Staff Services Analyst)
916.376.5317
kevin.tateyama@dgs.ca.gov

Statewide Health and Safety

Jennifer Chappelle
(Business Continuity Manager - Health and Safety)
916.441.9618
jennifer.chappelle@dgs.ca.gov

Isabel Cortez-Raj
(Staff Risk Manager - Administration)
916.376.5297
isabel.cortez@dgs.ca.gov

Tavelle Matteucci
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst)
916.376.5309
tavelle.matteucci@dgs.ca.gov

Michele Stiger
(Staff Services Analyst)
916.376.5308
michele.stiger@dgs.ca.gov

First Aid / CPR Training Webpage 

DEFENSIVE DRIVERS TRAINING Webpage

Insurance Services

Karen Bianchini
(Claims and Insurance Manager)
916.376.5280
karen.bianchini@dgs.ca.gov

Carrie Willson
(Staff Risk Manager - Insurance Services)
916.376.5278
carrie.willson@dgs.ca.gov

Christopher Carroll
(Associate Risk Analyst)
916.376.5279
Christopher.carroll@dgs.ca.gov

Darren Miyata
(Assistant Risk Analyst)
916.376.1621
darren.miyata@dgs.ca.gov

Lynan Graf
(Associate Risk Analyst)
916.376.5290
lynan.graf@dgs.ca.gov

Trevor DeAnda
(Associate Risk Analyst)
916.376.5305
trevor.deanda@dgs.ca.gov

Jessica Carpenter
(Assistant Risk Analyst)
916.617.3620
jessica.carpenter@dgs.ca.gov

Claims Services

General Claims Information or Accident Reporting:
Toll Free: 800.900.3634
916.376.5300
CALNET: 8.480.5300
Fax: 916.376.5277
claims@dgs.ca.gov

Claims Services Staff:

Karen Bianchini
(Claims and Insurance Manager)
916.376.5280
karen.bianchini@dgs.ca.gov

Chris Verdin
(Staff Risk Manager - Claims Unit)
916.376.5425
christopher.verdin@dgs.ca.gov

Cathy Elly
(Associate Risk Analyst)
Motor Vehicle and General Liability Claims
916.376.5289
celly@dgs.ca.gov

Debbie Ewen
(Associate Risk Analyst)
Motor Vehicle and Foster Care Liability Claims
916.376.5292
deborah.ewen@dgs.ca.gov

Kim Clark
(Associate Risk Analyst)
Motor Vehicle and General Liability Claims
916.376.5315
kim.clark@dgs.ca.gov

Peter Kalisky
(Associate Risk Analyst)
Motor Vehicle and Foster Care Liability Claims
916.376.5295
peter.kalisky@dgs.ca.gov

Richard Maynard
(Associate Risk Analyst)
Motor Vehicle Claims
916.375.5957
richard.maynard@dgs.ca.gov

Shreena Nagra
(Staff Services Analyst)
Motor Vehicle Claims
916.376.5313
shreena.nagra@dgs.ca.gov

Trevor Rabena
(Staff Services Analyst)
Motor Vehicle Claims
916.375.5281
trevor.rabena@dgs.ca.gov

Jessica Dunne
(Associate Risk Analyst)
CDSS Program
916.376.5296
jessica.dunne@dgs.ca.gov

Eran Bartole
(Office Assistant)
916.376.5306
eran.bartole@dgs.ca.gov

DGS Health and Safety Program

Eric Jenkins
(DGS Health and Safety Officer)
916.375.4518
CALNET: 8.480.4518
eric.jenkins@dgs.ca.gov

Emergency Management

Michael Thomas
(R.E.F. Manager)
916.376.5286
michael.thomas@dgs.ca.gov

Jennifer Chappelle
(Emergency Program Manager)
916.376.5291
Jennifer.chappelle@dgs.ca.gov

Debbie De Anda
(Emergency Program Manager)
916.376.5452
debbie.deanda@dgs.ca.gov

Natural Gas Services

Teri Rohrer
(Program Manager)
916.375.5986
teri.rohrer@dgs.ca.gov

Justin Reyna
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst) 
916.375.5992
justin.reyna@dgs.ca.gov

Noah Montgomery
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst)
916.376.5274 
noah.montgomery@dgs.ca.gov

Eyas Abdeen
(Associate Governmental Program Analyst)
916.376.5426
eyas.abdeen@dgs.ca.gov