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HUMAN RESOURCES MEMORANDUM 24-001 
DATE ISSUED: 

1/11/2024 
SUBJECT: 

2024 STATE BAR ASSOCIATION DUES REIMBURSEMENT 

REFERENCE: 

CalHR Manual 
Section 2007 

TO: 

All DGS Employees 
SUPERCEDES: 

HR Memo 22-024 
 

PLEASE ENSURE THAT THIS INFORMATION IS SHARED WITH YOUR EMPLOYEES 

Purpose  
The purpose of this memorandum is to inform employees of the 2024 State Bar 
membership dues for reimbursement and related provisions. 

Deadline  
The annual membership fee for active members is payable on or before February 1, 
2024. 

I. 2024 Reimbursement   
Departments are required to pay $465 of the $510 2024 State Bar membership fee for 
employees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated excluded employees if State Bar 
membership is required as a condition of employment. 

 
The state does not pay: 

• The $45 contribution for the Legal Services Assistance option. 
• Optional donations for Justice Gap Fund, California Change Lawyers, 

Legislative (or lobbying-related) Activities Fund, or California Supreme Court 
Historical Society (CSCHS); nor 

• Penalties resulting from late payment of dues unless the state is responsible for 
the late payment. 

 
For employees who work less than full-time or less than one year, the department may 
prorate the reimbursement. 

 
II. Local or Specialty Bar Dues   
The state will pay up to $200 annually for job-related local or specialty bar dues if 
State Bar membership is required as a condition of employment. The employee may 
be reimbursed for more than one local or specialty bar as long as the total 
reimbursement does not exceed $200. 

Excluded employees may be reimbursed for job-related local or specialty bar dues at 
the department's discretion. In such cases, the department also determines the 
reimbursable amount. The department may prorate the amount for employees 
working less than full time. 

http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2007
http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2007
https://www.dgs.ca.gov/-/media/Divisions/OHR/HR-Memo/22024.pdf?la=en&hash=8F05A27C9304847A4A1E41BC74BCD1F04E9CC839
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III. Reimbursement when State Bar Membership is Not Required                                                            
For rank-and-file employees in Bargaining Unit 2 who are not required to be members 
of the State Bar as a condition of employment, the department may provide one of 
the following: 
 

1. Reimbursement of the $465 portion of State Bar dues described in Option “1” 
(the reimbursable amount for an “inactive” membership would be $137.40); or 
 

2. Two Professional Development Days (PDD), per Unit 2, Memorandum of 
Understanding, Article 12, Section 12.8 B. 

 
• Option “1” is available only for employees who are eligible to be State Bar 

members. Unit 2 employees who are not attorneys are entitled to only option “2”. 
• The department may prorate PDD for employees who work less than full time 

and/or less than a full year. 
• PDD must be requested and approved in the same manner as vacation or annual 

leave.  

IV. Reimbursement for Excluded Employees                                                                                            
Excluded employees are entitled to reimbursement for up to $100 annually for 
membership dues of a professional organization or for a job-related professional 
license fee directly related to the employee’s professional discipline. 

V. Reimbursement for California Rules of Court, rule 9.9.5 (Attorney Fingerprinting)                     
Departments shall provide reimbursement of the $49 processing fee for the 
Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) review, and up 
to $35 for vendor fees incurred due to the requirements of California Rules of Court 
rule 9.9.5 (Attorney Fingerprinting) for employees in Bargaining Unit 2 and affiliated 
excluded employees if State Bar membership is required as a condition of 
employment. 

Methods of Reimbursement/Payment of Bar Dues                                                                              
Direct Payment 
The department may pay membership fees directly to the State Bar following the 
procedures outlined below. However, the reimbursement method (described in the 
Reimbursement section below) must be used, not direct payment, for employees 
choosing to pay any optional fees (itemized on lines 10-16 of the membership dues 
statement). 

1. Employees must provide the original remittance (coupon) portion of their 
membership dues to the person designated by the department to handle 
payment of bar dues no later than January 11, 2024 (which is approximately 
three weeks before the February 1, 2024, payment deadline). “Legal Services 
Assistance” must show that $45 has been deducted. at a time,  

2. Departments must create an Administrator's profile by using the login button on 
the upper right side of the State Bar of California website home page (State Bar 
Home Page) to create an Administrator's profile. Any questions on this process 
should be directed to the State Bar at AgencyBilling@calbar.ca.gov or (888) 

http://calbar.ca.gov/Home.aspx
http://calbar.ca.gov/Home.aspx
mailto:AgencyBilling@calbar.ca.gov
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800-3400. 
 

3. The administration should upload a spreadsheet with their attorney’s names and 
Bar Numbers. The system will generate the billing information for each attorney, 
including any current section memberships. Please make any changes 
necessary, including deleting any optional deductions not paid by the 
department as listed above. 

4. Payment may be made online via bank account (ACH) or credit card. If online 
payment is not an option for your department, print an invoice to submit with a 
check. 

5. If paying by check, please prepare one check for dues and section fees, 
payable to “California State Bar.” Send the check, list, and invoice generated in 
the Agency Billing process in one envelope addressed to: 

State Bar of California 
P.O. Box 842142 
Los Angeles, CA 90084-2142 

6. If the department receives an employee’s membership dues statement after 
January 11, 2024, the department can pay the dues directly or reimburse the 
employee, as described below. 

Reimbursement  
The Department may reimburse individual employees. Employees who request 
reimbursement must include proof of payment, a copy of their annual membership 
dues statement, and a copy of their membership card. 

 
References   
The information in this memorandum is referenced in California Department of Human 
Resources (CalHR) Human Resources Manual Section 2007 – State Bar Dues, the 
Bargaining Contracts - MOUs, Business and Professions Code section 6140 to 6145, 
and California Code of Regulations, Title 2, Sections 599.921. 

 
Questions   
If employees have questions not addressed in this memorandum, they are 
encouraged to contact their supervisor/manager and/or employee representative as 
appropriate. 

 
ESTELA GONZALES, Chief 
Office of Human Resources 

 

http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2007
https://www.calhr.ca.gov/state-hr-professionals/pages/bargaining-contracts.aspx
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&division=3.&title&part&chapter=4.&article=8
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IF1B73C805D9711E4A9828577DD5F1BF2?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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